Will Power Wins Indy Race, Scott Dixon Wins Championship

In the final race of the season, Will Power takes the MATV 500 in Fontana, California win  making this his third win of the season. He won by 1.4883 seconds over Ed Carpenter (2012 race winner). Power was the runner up the last three years making this a special victory for him.

This victory is also one for Chevrolet as it has clinched its second consecutive IndyCar Series Manufacturers’ championship for a total of 10 wins in the 19-race 2013 IndyCar Series season which also included the exciting win by Tony Kanaan (KV Racing Technology Chevrolet driver)  in the 97th running of the Indianapolis 500.

The IZOD Indy car driven by Scott Dixon (No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) is the 2013 Indy Car Champion winning by a  27 point margin, beating out Helio Castroneves (No. 3 Auto Club Team Penske Chevrolet – 2nd with a total of 550 points) and Simon Pagenaud (No. 77 Schmidt Hamilton HP Motorsports Honda – 3rd with a total of 508 points). Will Power (No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet) came in 4th with a total of 499 points!

2013 marks the 10th Indy car championship for Target Chip Ganassi Racing and the ninth with Honda (Dixon won in ’03 with Toyota).